This entry is old and may contain information that is not up-to-date.
The comment you are looking for have either been moved to a new discussion or been deleted.

If i have celiac i can drink absolut vodka ? it's gluten free ?

If i have celiac i can drink absolut vodka ? it's gluten free ?

Ben Report inappropriate content
Show best answer

Comments

  • The ingredients for ABSOLUT VODKA are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used.

    The gluten is removed in the production process since the spirit is first fermented and then distilled hundreds of times. We call this continuous distillation, a process so efficient that it eliminates the need for filtration. The crude spirit passes continually through a total of six columns. This gives full control of distillation at every stage and removes all impurities. This strict distillation process separates the gluten in the grain from the alcohol, why it is highly unlikely that any gluten remains in Absolut Vodka.

    The question of possible residues of allergens in distilled spirits has been reviewed by the European Food Safety Agency. On the basis of this and other information, the EU Commission concludes that grain used before distillation does not need an allergen warning (Commission Directive 2007/68/EC).

    We know allergic reactions can be caused by very small amounts (or even traces) of ingredients. We are not in a position to guarantee that the flavour ingredients have not come into contact with gluten during the suppliers' production processes. Since any medical advice should be given on a personal basis by a medical expert, we can not recommend persons suffering from allergies to consume our flavoured products.

    Martin V
  • Does your regular absolut vodka have any nut related ingridents like nutmeg, tree nut or anything else?

    Rob
  • Dear Rob,

    Sorry for late reply. I forwarded your message to the team and they will contact you shortly to answer your question. Please let me know if you have further concerns.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • So is it safe to drink absolute vodka

    Ann
  • Dear Ann,

    Thank you for the message. Please refer to the following thread http://contact.absolut.com/org/absolut-vodka/d/...

    Please let me know if you have further questions.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • Thank you for letting me know about if its safe to drink Absolut Vodka Now I know its safe to drink that now I have one more Question to ask is it safe to drink its spell as it on the bottle thou Wodka that how its spell on the bottle imported in Poland ?Did say on the bottle Distilled from Rye So I don't know if I can drink that cause of celiac disease I can't have wheat ,rye , barley Thank you have a great day .Happy Easter :-)

    Ann
  • Dear Ann,

    Excuse my late reply. I would very much appreciate if you could specify what you mean by "spell". Please be advised that all our products and produced in Åhus, Sweden.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • Yes I spell the right word down I wanted to know if the vodka I just bought is safe to drink it's spell as a Wodka (vodka) The top of the bottle say Fabrya wodek Wieseaw wawrzyniak 40% percent vodka product from Poland now is this safe to drink cause I have celiac disease or give list of vodka I can drink thank you Ann

    Ann
  • Dear Ann,

    Thank you for contacting us. I would like to clarify if the product you purchased is one of our products.

    Please be advised that we do not provide list of spirits brands that could be consumed in case our consumers have certain allergies. We cannot provide any information or advice if the product you purchased is not one of our products.

    Thank you for understanding.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • I'm not allowed to have gluten and now have discovered that I can't have yeast (including any sugar) in my diet. I've been told that provided flavoured Vodka has been infused rather than compounded, the distillation process removes sugars, yeast and gluten. I have a big birthday coming up and don't want to be drinking water for the evening. Please can you let me know if the flavoured Vodkas in the Absolut range are OK for me to drink. Thank you. Fey

    Feyley Barnham
  • Dear Feyley,

    Excuse my late reply. Yeast is separated from our products in the destillation process and is therefore not found in our products. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used. Please let me know if this answers your questions

    Do not hesitate to contact us again if you have further questions.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • Have you tested Absolut for parts per million of gluten? Thanks

    Torie
  • When will you be bring Absolut Tune to Canada?

    Dawn
  • Dear Torie,

    Excuse my late reply. As it is mentioned above, the gluten is removed in the production process since the spirit is first fermented and then distilled hundreds of times. We call this continuous distillation, a process so efficient that it eliminates the need for filtration. The crude spirit passes continually through a total of six columns. This gives full control of distillation at every stage and removes all impurities. This strict distillation process separates the gluten in the grain from the alcohol, why it is highly unlikely that any gluten remains in Absolut Vodka.

    That said, we do not see the real need to perform the analysis on gluten.

    If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • Dear Dawn,

    Thank you for the message. I'm afraid we cannot confirm or say anything regarding launching Absolut Tune in Canada.

    If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • Could you please confirm that there are no soy or dairy ingredients in your vodka? I recently found out that have an allergy to both and am hoping to be able to continue drinking your products.

    Thank you!

    Pam
  • Dear Pam,

    Thank you for the message. Please be advised that our products don't contain soy or dairy ingredients.

    If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • Thanks so much, Galya! That's great news!

    Pam
  • Dear Pam,

    Not a problem at all. Let us know if you have any other questions/concerns.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • Are the berries and fruit in the vodka organic and GMO free

    Thank you
    Elaine Connor

    Elaine Connor
  • Dear Elaine,

    Thank you for the message. We have no ingredients in our products that are classified GMO.

    Please don't hesitate to contact us again if you have further questions.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • I Would like to know what are the Vodka brands which does not contain Yeast or which is Glutten Free. Is Absolut Vodka glutten and Yeast Free? Pls. reply by return email.

    Thanx

    Ajay Sood

    Ajay Sood
  • Dear Ajay,

    Thank you for the message.

    The gluten is removed in the production process since the spirit is first fermented and then distilled hundreds of times. We call this continuous distillation, a process so efficient that it eliminates the need for filtration. The crude spirit passes continually through a total of six columns. This gives full control of distillation at every stage and removes all impurities. This strict distillation process separates the gluten in the grain from the alcohol, why it is highly unlikely that any gluten remains in Absolut Vodka.

    Please don't hesitate to contact us again, if you have any further questions.

    All the best

    Anna
  • So the flavoured vodkas are gluten free or not? Is there any way to find out from suppliers?

    Danika
  • Dear Danika,

    Thank you for the message.
    Please be advised that gluten is removed from Absolut. However, we are not in a position to guarantee that the flavour ingredients have not come into contact with gluten during the suppliers' production processes. Since any medical advice should be given on a personal basis by a medical expert, we can not recommend persons suffering from allergies to consume our flavoured products.

    Please don't hesitate to contact us again if you have any further questions.

    All the best

    Anna
  • I have noticed for all of you wondering if drinking absolut vodka will set off there wheat or gluten allergy that for me personally it does not and has been safe to drink.

    Marcus
  • Well, I have a terrible stomach ache and my stomach is swelling. I am celiac...I read gluten free but am highly sensitive to gluten. This to me is not gluten free I think it should be called Gluten reduced or minimized. There are some that are highly sensitive and it is ridiculous companies can put gluten free when it really isn't. If you want to label GLUTEN-FREE use potatoes in production!

    Olivia
  • Olivia - even a blatantly drunk person can read through this and deduce that no 'gluten free' label has been applied here.

    Sincerely,
    You're a fucking idiot

    Derk
  • You are immature. It is frustrating a site won't outright say "We are not Gluten-Free". I read 3 different websites that called Absolute beverages Gluten-Free. It can be confusing to some new to the Celiac diagnosis. Not every one is a genius like you, I guess.

    Olivia
  • Hi ,

    I would recommend you to read through our ingredients and process here:
    http://contact.absolut.com/org/absolut-vodka/d/...

    Best

    Risha M
  • What are the vodka product that I can use if I am celiac disease ?and thank you

    yassine
  • Please view "best answer" above.

    All the best

    Martin

    Martin V
  • Hello. I want to know if you use GMO ingredients in your vodka. Thank you.

    Melina Castro
  • Hi Melina,

    We have no ingredients in our products that are classified GMO.

    Have a great weekend ahead.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • Is there sulfites/sulfates in Absolut?

    Shannon
  • Hi Shannon,

    Please find the ingredients of our product here:

    http://contact.absolut.com/org/absolut-vodka/d/...

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • Just want to point out here that gluten is a mix of two proteins. Distillation, essentially, is the boiling and subsequent condensation and collection of alcohol out of a fermented mash. Gliadin and glutenin are denatured when kept at high temperature for an extended period, and more importantly, they do not boil. Glutenin is completely insoluble in water or alcohol, which are the only solvents in vodka. Gliadin is only soluble in alcohol higher than 140 proof, and so is completely insoluble in vodka bottled at 80 proof. This means that if there were any gliadin in absolut, it would be collecting at the bottom of their containers when the vodka is diluted down to proof. Even at parts-per-million concentration, they would be seeing sludge collect as it precipitates out of solution.

    The only good reason to label something gluten-free is if there is an alternative.

    It is impossible to have gluten in vodka.

    http://www.savoredspirits.com/which-vodkas-are-...

    Tristan
  • Thanks Tristan.

    Jake D
  • My husband has been recently diagnosed to being allergic to sulfites, i.e. wines. How about vodka? Are there certain ones that he can drink?

    Beth Blum
  • Hi Beth,

    Below is a detailed description of our ingredients (hope this helps):

    The ingredients for Absolut are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used.

    The gluten is removed in the production process since the spirit is first fermented and then distilled hundreds of times. We call this continuous distillation, a process so efficient that it eliminates the need for filtration. The crude spirit passes continually through a total of six columns. This gives full control of distillation at every stage and removes all impurities. This strict distillation process separates the gluten in the grain from the alcohol, why it is highly unlikely that any gluten remains in Absolut Vodka.

    The question of possible residues of allergens in distilled spirits has been reviewed by the European Food Safety Agency. On the basis of this and other information, the EU Commission concludes that grain used before distillation does not need an allergen warning (Commission Directive 2007/68/EC).

    We know allergic reactions can be caused by very small amounts (or even traces) of ingredients. We are not in a position to guarantee that the flavour ingredients have not come into contact with gluten during the suppliers' production processes. Since any medical advice should be given on a personal basis by a medical expert, we can not recommend persons suffering from allergies to consume our flavoured products.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • While at Fresno, CA Trader Joe's recently I asked about ABSOLUT. Was advised they do NOT carry as would not pass the standards of TRADER JOE !!!

    IS THIS TRUE ???

    EAGERLY AWAITING YOUR REPLY

    "Ben"

    "BEN"
  • As a celiac who has had bad reactions to drinking Absolut vodka, I can safely say... if you are a true celiac DO NOT DRINK ABSOLUT. It has caused hospitalizations in myself and my fiancé after just one drink.

    Kimmers
  • Hi Ben,

    I will follow up with our local team in the US.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • Interesting b/c I have always thought Absolut had more of a tendency to give me a headache and I like Smirnoff. Now I find that I have Celiac and Smirnoff is on the safe list.

    Lynn
  • Absolute always seems to have the same reply.

    sr
  • Absolut is "crafted to remove gluten." Not truly gluten free. If you are highly sensitive, don't go near the stuff.

    kimmers
  • If Iam allergic to wheat and sulfites, can I drink vodka?

    Mary S Reif
  • does absolute contain wheat or sulfates?

    Mary S Reif
  • Hi Mary,

    Yes, the ingredients for Absolut Vodka are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used. We have no ingredients in our products that are classified GMO.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • Just curious, nobody has mentioned potato. Does Absolut contsin potato?

    Roxan Henrikson
  • I just had half of the individual size Absolut Citron flavor, so delicious and made my stomach swell up, so bloated and so uncomfortable. I didn't want to believe it and had another sip after dinner and sure enough the bloat came right back after the just one sip! I did not have any reaction with organic vodka or googl vodka that is not made from grain.

    Priscilla Tse
  • Are any of the Absolut Vodkas gluten free?

    Gail Smoler
  • Hey Gail,

    The ingredients for ABSOLUT VODKA are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used.

    The gluten is removed in the production process since the spirit is first fermented and then distilled hundreds of times. We call this continuous distillation, a process so efficient that it eliminates the need for filtration. The crude spirit passes continually through a total of six columns. This gives full control of distillation at every stage and removes all impurities. This strict distillation process separates the gluten in the grain from the alcohol, why it is highly unlikely that any gluten remains in Absolut Vodka.

    The question of possible residues of allergens in distilled spirits has been reviewed by the European Food Safety Agency. On the basis of this and other information, the EU Commission concludes that grain used before distillation does not need an allergen warning (Commission Directive 2007/68/EC).

    We know allergic reactions can be caused by very small amounts (or even traces) of ingredients. We are not in a position to guarantee that the flavour ingredients have not come into contact with gluten during the suppliers' production processes. Since any medical advice should be given on a personal basis by a medical expert, we can not recommend persons suffering from allergies to consume our flavoured products.

    Jake D
  • to absolut, i love your vodka only one i drink straight, Tristan replied to a question here and you only said Thanks tristan. I hope you sent him a case of vodka for absollutly smashing any other questions about gluten free for you. if you want to send me some too i'll walk around sydney praising absolut. Cheers big ears. C

    christian
  • Thank you Christian

    We are glad to hear you like our vodka. And also thank you for sharing your input regarding Tristans answer. (Thank you again Tristan)

    I´ll not be able to send you a case of vodka, but I can send you a mental high-5 all the way from Stockholm to where ever you are right now.

    Have a great day,

    Magdalena Community Manager
  • Hi there, I just wanted to clarify. As I have ceoliac disease, is your normal vodka completely fine to drink? Thank you
    Maddy
  • Hi Maddy

    We can say with confidence that Absolut Vodka(not flavored) does not contain any allergens. This is because the allergens present in the starting material (gluten from wheat) are removed in the distillation step as part of our normal process to make vodka.

    Best regards,
    Magdalena Community Manager

Add your comment or create a new post

Your post & name will be visible to all.
Your e-mail will never be shown publicly. Read our policy