To latest comment
This entry is old and may contain information that is not up-to-date.
The comment you are looking for have either been moved to a new discussion or been deleted.

Possible manufacturing defect

To whom it may concern,

My place of employment holds an annual pool retreat every summer, and the supervisors, myself included, were in charge of planning the occasion. We were to plan every detail, from renting the location for the weekend, to making sure food and beverages were accounted for. We were going to set up a bar on one end of the pool for the casual drinkers so I was designated to purchase all the alcoholic beverages.

I decided to purchase from a wholesale liquor provider which was economically beneficial, but as I later determined, was not the best choice. I purchased a case of the 1.75L Absolut Original which was valued close to $140. This was a few days prior to the start of the retreat, so after we were done with the set-up we had a few days to relax while we waited for the rest of our office to arrive.

As the guests started arriving we immediately started serving alcohol from the bar. As the weekend progressed, all our guests who were served from the bar complained of migraines and headaches. At first many assumed it was due to dehydration since we were all outside by the pool for most of the day, but after we all kept hydrated and more people complained we quickly deduced it must have been from one of the drinks we were serving. All the alcohol we served, we were all quite familiar with, especially Absolut. After the retreat ended we were in charge of the cleanup as well. We decided to each drink a different alcohol and see which one affected us in terms of headaches and pains. It was rudimentary but it was better than not knowing at all. After testing the different drinks, we came to the conclusion that it was the case of Absolut vodka that had given multiple people migraines.

The first step we took was to contact the wholesale supplier we purchased it from. My coworker explained the situation to the store associate over the phone. The employee seemed genuinely eager to help but he explained the store’s policy as well as some local laws prohibited the return of alcoholic beverages. We wanted to resolve this soon so we gave the associate our phone number to give to his store manager, so there would be a follow-up to resolve this. The manager didn't contact us until the next weekend, and when he called he was extremely rude and unprofessional. He would use profanity and when it was clear he wouldn't take any action to attempt and resolve it we just hung up.

By contacting Absolut directly it was our last chance at some form of rectification of this problem. That was quite a lot of money that I spent personally. The costs for the retreat were not reimbursed by the company. All the expenses were paid out of pocket by whoever wanted to help. Is there any way to offer some discount promotional coupons or some form of partial reimbursement? My executive supervisor is leaving our company in September so we will be planning another retreat in early August, and as we will be purchasing more alcohol for this coming one, it would be appreciated if your company could offer us a discount for our issues in last month’s purchase.

Sincerely,

Cristine Ghillani

Cristine Ghillani Report inappropriate content

Comments

  • Dear Cristine,

    Very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience and that the bottle of Absolut Vodka that you purchased was not up to the quality Absolut is known for. I am forwarding your message to the local office that will contact you shortly to review the case and correct the issue if it is possible.

    If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to ask.
    Thank you for understanding.

    All the best,
    Galya

    Anna
  • I have also recently had a horrible experience hosting a party where absolut was featured in both our signature cocktails including a luge.... Which was a huge hit until we opened a bottle that tasted off! Then the next and next! Finally bottle four had the taste I have come to know and love. I went back to the liquor store where I purchased the absolut and was told that they could do nothing about it to contact the company directly. I can understand that there may have been a "bad batch" but quite honestly It ruined the feel of the party for many and left my. Bartenders embarrassed and scrambling for solutions. I don't know that I would purchase absolut again; yet, it has be my go to vodka for years! I just really hope no one gets sick!

    Jennifer Palmer
  • Hi Jennifer,

    Sorry to learn about this experience but grateful that you took the time to write to us. We have forwarded your comments to the local office who will be with you ASAP.

    All the best

    Martin

    Martin V
  • Hi there, I am an avid vodka drinker who's typical brand is Titos. After a friend suggested Absolute, I have it a shot buy purchasing a bottle. I have noticed intense, splitting headaches on the first three occasions of drinking (the same exact amount I usually drink without getting headaches). I'm not sure if there is something wrong with this batch or what but I cannot take another sip. The store will not accept my return so I'm kindly requesting a refund (I have the receipt) and suggest you test this bottle to make sure nothing is wrong. Just to reinforce my claim, my girlfriend also felt the headache from the drink. Please advise. Thank you for your time! -John

    John
  • Please excuse my typos in prior comment:) iPhone auto corrected.

    John

    John
  • Hi John,

    Thank you for your message and providing us with your feedback.

    We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please let me know where you purchased the bottle so that I can forward it to our local team.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • Ralph's on Lincoln Blvd. in Marina Del Rey, CA. So am I to just throw the bottle away and lose $20. That seems a little unjust. Please advise. Thanks, John

    John
  • Hi John,

    I have forwarded your message to our local team in the US - they will be in touch with you.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • This is the second time I bought a mini absolute bottle in Thailand and have had horrible headaches after one drink.. Is there something wrong with a certain batch? I am worried after reading these other posts affirming the relationship between absolute and extreme headaches after a drink .. Can you get back to me ASAP and let me know what is wrong with the vodka? Very uncomfortable.

    Hillary
  • Hi Hillary,

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I would recommend getting in touch with our team in Thailand via phone: 00 66 2648 8222.

    Please let me know if you are unable to get through and I can try to get in touch with them.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • Hi Jake,is there an email instead I can use? I will be heading back to the U.S. in 4 days anyway and do not have a service plan here. Is there someone I could speak to directly through email about this issue? Or back in the US, a direct contact by phone?

    Hillary
  • Hi Hillary,

    I don't have an email address for Thailand but I can provide you one for the US:

    sponsorships@pernod-ricard.com

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • I too have experienced this. I recently purchased a bottle from Sam's Club in Palmdale, CA, and the first drink I thought it was a fluke, but have tried it 2 more times,2 separate occasions and have gotten a splitting headache each time. This last time was quite unbearable and it didn't subside for about 12 hours. I will not be drinking any more of this bottle. Can you provide some explanation and resolve for this issue please.
    Thank you,

    Tracie
  • Hi Tracie,

    Thank you for your message and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

    We apologize for the inconvenience. Please let me know where you bought your bottle of Absolut so I can forward your issue to the local team.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • I did tell you in my post where I purchased the bottle. It was at Sam's Club in Palmdale, CA.

    Tracie Beech
  • Hi Tracie,

    Your issue has been forwarded to our team in the US.

    Thank you,

    Jake D

Add your comment or create a new post

Your name and post can be seen by everyone.Your e-mail will never be shown publicly.