To latest comment
This entry is old and may contain information that is not up-to-date.

Ingredients (Allergens, Gluten, Celiac, Yeast, Dairy, GMO)

The ingredients for Absolut Vodka are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used. We have no ingredients in our products that are classified GMO.

The gluten is removed in the production process since the spirit is first fermented and then distilled hundreds of times. We call this continuous distillation, a process so efficient that it eliminates the need for filtration. The crude spirit passes continually through a total of six columns. This gives full control of distillation at every stage and removes all impurities. This strict distillation process separates the gluten in the grain from the alcohol, why it is highly unlikely that any gluten remains in Absolut Vodka.

The question of possible residues of allergens in distilled spirits has been reviewed by the European Food Safety Agency. On the basis of this and other information, the EU Commission concludes that grain used before distillation does not need an allergen warning (Commission Directive 2007/68/EC).

We know allergic reactions can be caused by very small amounts (or even traces) of ingredients. We are not in a position to guarantee that the flavour ingredients have not come into contact with gluten during the suppliers' production processes. Since any medical advice should be given on a personal basis by a medical expert, we can not recommend persons suffering from allergies to consume our flavoured products.

For information on allergens: http://contact.absolut.com/org/absolut-vodka/d/...

Martin V Report inappropriate content

Comments

  • does this product contain Benzalkonium?

    Tamara Rasoumoff
  • Hi Tamara,

    There is no Benzalkonium in our product.

    The ingredients for Absolut Vodka are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used. We have no ingredients in our products that are classified GMO.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • Does your vodka contain any sugar not your flavoured ones?

    John
  • Do you use ant GMO products in Absolut ?

    Ann
  • Hi Ann,

    We have no ingredients in our products that are classified GMO.

    All the best,

    Jake D
  • Goodmorning,

    We use this product in our meals that we sell to hospitals and elderly homes. Can you send me the productspecification of the absolut vodka regular?

    Thank you.

    Nienke

    Nienke
  • Hi Nienke,

    Thank you for contacting us. I will get back to you shortly.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • Hello could you tell me if Absolute vodka contains any wheat
    I have a very bad reaction to wheat in alcohol drinks
    even a few sips makes me so ill.

    Kind Regards Mia

    Mia
  • Hi Mia,

    The ingredients for Absolut Vodka are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used. We have no ingredients in our products that are classified GMO.

    Hope this helps.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • I am allergic to artificial sweetners but I really want to try your products, could you tell me if your product contains ANY artificial sweetners?

    Taylor
  • How many calories are in 1 "shot" or 1.5 oz serving of Absolut Rasperri; Absolut Citron? Thank you

    Amber
  • Hi Taylor,

    For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used. We have no ingredients in our products that are classified GMO.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • With all due respect but it's pretty well accepted now that despite the distillation process when wheat especially is used it is problematic for those with gluten intolerances. Sadly I personally have suffered at the hands of Grey Goose & Absolut despite the disclaimer posted above.

    There's plenty of reading emerging on this, all easily found online

    Glenn
  • Does this vodka contain propylene glycol in it?

    Riley
  • Hi Riley,

    Thank you for your message. I'll get back to you shortly with further information.

    Kind regards,

    Jake D
  • Hi just wondering if you have found any further info about the propylene glycol?

    Riley
  • Hi Riley,

    Apologies for the delay - I'll follow up on this.

    Thanks,

    Jake D
  • I would like to know about any propylene glycol in Absolute Vodka, as well. Why the huge delay in answering Riley's question?

    Carisa
  • My question is how do vodka global demands keep up with organic produce when population density is on the rise and majority of grown produce is genetically modified. Specific types of alcohol should be classified as Seasonal.

    Lunox
  • I am allergic to corn and corn products. Does your Vodka contain any corn or corn products?

    Platehead90u
  • Hi Platehead90u

    Thank you for writing to us. Our vodka does not contain any corn or corn products. The ingredients for Absolut Vodka are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well.

    Hope this information was helpful.

    All the best,

    Louise Community Manager
  • Does Absolut Vodka ( plain / unflavoured ) contain sugar or glycerine ?
    ( I am diabetic and have to be careful about sugar intake . Some manufacturers add sugar or glycerine to "smooth out" the flavour )

    Rob GIBSON
  • Hi Rob

    The ingredients for Absolut Vodka are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used. No suger added.

    Best regards,

    Louise Community Manager
  • Is there barley in absolute vodka?

    Melina Zalac
  • Hi Melina

    The ingredients for Absolut Vodka are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used.

    I hope this information was helpful,

    Louise Community Manager
  • For those searching for info ...I am celiac and reacted to the regular absolut

    Kristen
  • Hi there!

    I was gifted a bottle of Absolut Raspberri for my birthday from one of my friends. I am allergic to Dairy, Egg, Seafood and Nuts. I know you advise that people with allergies do not consume your flavoured vodka's however I tried to switch it for a plain one at the store and they will not let me! (The bottle is still sealed). I realise your warning could be because of the wheat aspect. Could you please clarify whether there is any presence of my particular allergens in the Raspberri vodka? I am okay with labels such as 'may contain traces' etc on foods, so my question would refer to the berries and spices you add to the vodka.

    Micaela
  • I am alergic to mango. Can i drink absolut mango? Does it have the real frut in it?
    Alexis
  • Hello
    Could you let me know if your normal absolut vodka contains Sulphites / Sulphates and also what the sugar enzymes are
    Thank you
    Leigh
  • Hi Leigh

    We do not have any Sulfites in our unflavored vodka.

    All the best,

    Louise Community Manager
  • Unsuitable stories in Gluten
    there is a laboratory test for vodka and show to the customer!
    Stop playing with your head
    Gluten = test
  • I am allergic to additives and especially sulphites. Does Absolut Vodka contain any additives
    Leah
  • Does it contain propylene glycol I am sensitive to it and have an allergic reaction from it and would like to know thank you
    Everly
  • I am wondering about the propylene glycol as well?  I like to make my own Vanilla Extract and Vodka is an ingredient.  I have an allergy to propylene glycol so am hoping to find a brand that is definitely PG free!
    Kate
  • HI all,

    We approach the allergen issue with European Union allergen list as our basis. This list includes peanuts, soybeans, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashews, pecan nuts, Brazil nuts, pistachio nuts, macadamia or Queensland nuts and products thereof. From that list we can confirm that we are in compliance with respect to the European Union regulation on allergens (Directive 2003/89/EC).

    We can say with confidence that Absolut Vodka(not flavored) does not contain any allergens. This is because the allergens present in the starting material (gluten from wheat) are removed in the distillation step as part of our normal process to make vodka.

    For our flavored vodka (e.g. Absolut Citron) it is impossible for us to fully guarantee that the flavor ingredients have not come in contact with any trace of allergens during the suppliers' production processes. We do require allergen free documentation (based on Directive 2003/89/EC) from all flavor suppliers. We do not use any flavours where allergens (e.g. wheat) are declared. Based on this supplier information our vodkas are allergen free.

    For extra precaution, our general advice to people who suffer from food allergies is to refrain from consuming flavored vodkas. Instead, we recommend the unflavoured Absolut Vodka for people who want to avoid all risk of coming in contact with any trace of allergens.

    For information on ingredients: http://contact.absolut.com/org/absolut-vodka/d/...

    Hope this answers  your question.

    Best,
    Louise Community Manager
The post is closed to further comments.